Street Law Programme
The Street Law Programme falls under the auspices of the School of Law teaches school children, prisoners and communities about their legal rights.  On the Howard College campus nearly 100 students participate in the Street Law Programme every year and they visit nearly 100 High Schools and Westville Prison in the eThekwini Municipal area.  The Head Office of the National Street Law Programme is located on the Howard College campus.  The Independent Medico-Legal Unit in Durban is a division of the Street Law Programme and provides medico-legal training for officials involved in the criminal justice system, such as magistrates, prosecutors, police officers and district surgeons.

The Community Law and Rural Development Centre (CLRDC) in Durban is affiliated to the School of Law and provides training and support for a network of 35 paralegal advice offices situated in rural areas in KwaZulu-Natal. 

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved